Yes ! I Am A Girl Child …..

51

When family members prayed for a boy

In womb silently I took turns in coy

Parents rushing temples to altar for a boy

I am a girl child , silently I whispered in coy

At my birth , celebrations suddenly came to halt

Smiles fade away , my eyes kept wondering what’s the fault

I looked here and there in an amaze

Oh ! a girl child , was why everybody gaze

Years later when I asked for school

Stitching , knitting , mopping , washing , cooking surrounded as whirlpool

‘Lil me yearned for brother’s book

You are a girl child , he said don’t care to look

It’s my wedding , my husband hurt , no matter how much I do

No dowry , poor arrangement , is what in my in-laws’ mind brew

Only a son to family , came as warning , can undo

With every word , I could feel the foetus turning blue

At the birth , celebrations again came to halt

Everybody finding my fault

But this time this was it , I raised my princess

Yes , she is a girl child , proudly I profess

She has the right , I claimed , to live , to laugh , to love

Get rid of taboos and you could see her as pure as dove

Today , in my old age when I see her flying , chasing dreams , blooming like a flower

I realize the ultimate aim of my life

To gratify my birth , my existence as a happy hour

Yes , I am a girl child not to be just a daughter , sister , wife or mother

But to rise to sunshine as a rainbow shower

 Yes , I am a girl child !

Leave a comment